Pharma and Biotech Giants Support Veterans at the 21st Annual Sparkle of Hope Gala with $1.5 million in Donations

Nearly 900 supporters turned out for the 21st Annual Sparkle of Hope Gala in New Jersey this October to honor Robert J. Hugin, Executive Chairman of Celgene Corporation. Leading this year’s record-breaking event was Brent Saunders, Chairman, President, and CEO of Allergan plc and Honorary Co-Chairs Kenneth C. Frazier, Chairman and CEO of Merck, as well as the Honorable Kim Guadagno, New Jersey Lieutenant Governor. In addition, a prestigious list of pharmaceutical leaders demonstrated their commitment to veterans, turning out in force.

The Sparkle of Hope gala was founded in 1997 by pharmaceutical icon Fred Hassan and has since raised $12.5 million to benefit Community Hope’s mission to find housing for homeless veterans and veteran families and provide residential recovery for individuals with mental illness.

The gala set a record this year with $1.5 million raised, including $250,000 donated at the event to support our charity’s veterans’ mental health campaign. With more than 20 former military members a day taking their own lives in the U.S., Community Hope is expanding mental health counseling and therapy at its largest veterans facility, the 95-bed Hope for Veterans transitional housing program.

(Seated from left to right) Gala Co-Chairs J. Michael Armstrong of Community Hope; Neriman Botas of Eisai; Eileen Griffith of Community Hope; Terrie Curran of Celgene Corporation; Al Bourla of Pfizer Innovative Health; and Fred Hassan of the Caret Group and Warburg Pincus. (Standing from left to right): Kabir Nath of Otsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc.; Thomas Kendris of Novartis; Michael Mawby of Ferring Holding Pharmaceuticals; Gala Honoree Robert J. Hugin and Mark Alles of Celgene Corporation; Brent Saunders of Allergan plc; Adam Schechter of Merck; and David Epstein of Rubius Therapeutics and Flagship Pioneering.
From left to right: Cheryl Ressland, Daiichi Sankyo, Inc.; John Soriano, Celgene Corporation; Ann Mohamadi, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; Kevin Rigby, Rigby Consulting, LLC; Jen Zimmer, Insigniam; Michael Lupton, Wells Fargo Advisors; Anne St.Clair, Wilmington Trust; Chris Clare, M&T Bank; Craig Robertson, Accenture; Thomas Kolaras, Endo Pharmaceuticals; and Mike Lazar, JBK Associates International, Inc.
Leadership Chair Brent Saunders, Chairman, CEO, and President of Allergan plc, (left) presents the Sparkle of Hope Hero’s Award to Honoree Robert J. Hugin, Executive Chairman of Celgene Corporation.
Honoree Robert J. Hugin and his wife, Kathy, with Community Hope Leadership Committee Co-Chair Jen Zimmer of Insigniam (far left) and Board Member Anne St.Clair of Wilmington Trust (far right).
Otsuka America Pharmaceutical staff members with President and CEO, Kabir Nath (far right), who co-chaired the gala.


You May Also Like

Colon Cancer Rises Dramatically in Millennials

As a stage 4 colon cancer survivor and a mom of a young adult, ...

Movers and Shakers June 2019

AstraZeneca Hires New Breast Cancer Lead The pharma giant adds Sunil Verma, MD, FRCP ...